top of page

#PÂTISSERIEDOYLE

The Hobbits got it right

I am currently on holiday in Devon and have enjoyed a wonderful week, concerning myself only with food. Me and Bex love food and have recently realised our holidays together have resolved around food. Our trip to Spain involved eating at an average of 5 different places a day and sampling as much food as possible. Slovenia was as many good restaurants as we could afford and sampling some incredible wine. We don't go crazy and roll home every night but we love trying different foods and sampling different food cultures.


Our current break to Devon is for her to work and me relax. I will be the first to admit that I can't just relax and chill. Yesterday I went for a casual 3 hour walk along the coast, as well as planning, baking and cooking. I made home made pasta with a tomato sauce (recipe to follow). Today's outings have been to the fishmonger and I have bough a whole john dory to cook. I'm going to roast it whole with lemon and wine (also coming soon to the blog). As well as the walk and pasta I made a lovely fresh sourdough loaf which we enjoyed for breakfast, and this afternoon I have started marinating my pork for dinner in 2 days time. I simply love chilling in the kitchen and cooking, thinking and writing. And then inviting people over enjoy everything I can think of. Ill admit the last time I had friends over I made a very rich sticky toffee pudding that was too much and everyone did roll home.


My point is this, an existence of looking forward to and planing your next meal would be a great life. Much like the hobbits of the shire. Hobbits spent all days either sleeping, eating, at the market or cooking and the best part was having people over to share your food and cook for them.


Just a thought; don't kill, grill.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Stay up to date

CONTACT

Your details were sent successfully!

The finished article. #chocolat croustil
bottom of page