top of page

#PÂTISSERIEDOYLE

Mercato Metropolitano - Elephant and Castle

Now this is the best place to know about in London. It is a great place for drinks, food and just generally having a great time. Summer is nearly upon us, and hundreds of people will be flocking here after work and at weekends, which makes me think twice about telling you all about it.


When you arrive, you question whether or not something worth going to is really behind those walls. It looks like a derelict building, I am told its perfectly safe though. Once you go through the doors there are heaters, tables, lots of people and a bright warm barn to welcome you. I will say here the first time you go its super easy to get lost and near impossible to find friends!



They describe themselves as a place for people to have great food and a great time, I would agree. It is best described as a street food market with over 30 cuisine options and any drink you want. I have been multiple times and always tried something different. I am yet to be let down by any food, There is a lot of seating but It does get very busy at peak times so it's worth going earlier. If not you enter the fight for tables which can be stressful, I have always managed to find a seat though!


So the food types, currently I have tried about 75% of the food and my top 3 are: The Duck and Jackfruit (their menu has just changed however and the sample wasn't as good). The Caribbean Barbecue, excellent jerk chicken with amazing plantane fries! The Turkish sharing platter of flatbread and 3 meats, All excellent! See below for my full ranking sheet and information on each stall I have tried. I will continue to update it.


They also brew their own beer on site which is called German Kraft, they have different beers every time with an vast selection for everyone. Soft drinks have as equally a good variety however they don't use the big brands, they focus on small sustainable brands, the drinks are still great though,


My only recommendation is don't bring the grandparents as they will struggle to hear the conversation over the hundreds of conversations happening around you.


So go and enjoy, trust me!


Their website can be found here: http://www.mercatometropolitano.co.uk



Doyle Food Ranking:

- Lebanese - excellent charred meet skewers, and wraps great flavours and good price.

- Vietnamese - Great curry! it says mild but it is spicy for those who can't handle anything but a korma.

- Japanese (ramen and gyoza) - Haven't tasted the ramen but it looks great, the gyoza were exceptional.

- Mexican - Tacos are a bit small for the price. Burritos well worth it!

- Ecuador (Arepas) - I hadn't tried this before but they are a bit like sandwiches and they taste great, especially the pork and goats cheese!

- Argentine Grill - Steak, Chicken, Fries....need I say more?

- Raclette - Meat and salad platters with wedges and melted cheese!

- Pizza - Excellent pizza in a fired oven, great toppings, great taste.

- Turkish - Wonderful selection of meats and halloumi! the platters and wraps are great, so tasty and very hard to share!

- Gourmet Burgers - Lots of options, nice pink burgers with good quality meat. Fries are a bit thin...

- Spatzle - German gluten free pasta? I know what you're thinking, I will give that a miss. DONT! it is brilliant!

- Duck and Jackfruit - Hoisin heaven

- Tomkatsu - Katsu pork/chicken sandwiches, excellent flavours! just a little small if your really hungry, ask for the crusts of the fried bread as well!

- Gelato Lab - Good quality gelato, not quite the best in London though.

- Caribbean BBQ - Excellent flavours, excellent chicken, That your Mercato experience here (if you like spice)

- Slow cooked Beef Brisket (I've forgotten the name) - I think I built 18 hour brisket up too much in my head. It was good but not as perfect as I was hoping for. With great expectation comes great responsibility.


Enjoy.


*images are not my own, somehow I go so much I forgot to take photos! next time!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Stay up to date

CONTACT

Your details were sent successfully!

The finished article. #chocolat croustil
bottom of page